Day 16

Good morning everyone! Happy Day 16! Can you believe we’re two weeks into the challenge and things are going good? Despite the struggles, the humps, the twists, and the turns this challenge has worked for me! I really hope it’s been working for you too. And if not, I’m sure you’ll get there too because everyone is different and it takes some more time for others. I am happy to report that since day one I have lost a few pounds, I have been sleeping better, I feel more motivated, I feel happier, and my skin looks clearer. Have you noticed any good changes? I think it’s really important to keep track of these changes so you know that something is happening. A lot has happened to me and maybe if you don’t see the changes you wanted try to find others. For example if you don’t see a weight change, then maybe you have a mental change like feeling happy or motivated. It’s these small wins that can get us going and build us up.

And with that I wanted to do part one of this post because I made a very delicious smoothie/shake thing. It’s a chocolate banana “nut” shake. Great for post work outs or for starting the morning if you know you can’t snack between breakfast and lunch. I caution to drink this in moderation though if it’s for post work out fills or as a snack because it has a good amount of calories (about 250) for the entire thing. It keeps texture for the day and doesn’t do too bad the next if you mix it up with some ice to add body back to it. So it can last for a while.

image

Anyways here is the recipe for this chocolatey goodness.

In a blender put:

  • 1 banana
  • 2 tbsp of cocoa powder or cacao powders
  • 1/4 cup of milk (soy, regular, goat, coconut, whatever tickles your fancy)
  • 2 whopping tbsp of sunflower butter
  • however much ice you deem fit depending on the texture and taste of all of the stuff combined.

And there it is. 5 ingredients and super simple. It’s nut free because it has sunflower butter instead of almond or peanut butter. I’m allergic to nuts so this is my safe haven for healthy shakes. You can always use nut substitutes like almond milk or almond butter for this if you like. Like I said the whole thing is about 230 calories which makes it a good breakfast dish. But it is so filling that you’ll probably end up doing two servings.

Well I hope you all enjoy and get to try this sucker for some time. I know this will be in my belly Sunday morning because I’m going on a special trip to the Grand Canyon with a friend and as we’ll be hiking all day I will be starving all day. In which I’ll post all the snacks I plan to take with me on Saturday night.

Adios until this evening amigos!

PS  remember to check out my page “Work it Out Beginners” for staying up to date on the exercises. Today is a rest day which is why I was not in a hurry to post anything. But stay tuned for more! But also remember that even though it’s a rest day, you should still get your 10,000 steps in 🙂 That’s just being healthy!

Leave a Reply

